

# "TRIPS Agreement at 25" Symposium

# FINAL PROGRAM

## FRIDAY, MARCH 29, 2019

8:30	Breakfast
9:00	Welcoming Remarks
	Dean Robert B. Ahdieh, Anthony G. Buzbee Endowed Dean's Chair, Texas A&M University School of Law
	Prof. Peter K. Yu, Director, Center for Law and Intellectual Property, Texas A&M University School of Law
9:15	Intellectual Property, Strategic Competition and Global Development
Moderator:	Prof. Saurabh Vishnubhakat, Texas A&M University School of Law
Presenters:	Prof. Frederick M. Abbott, Florida State University College of Law
	Prof. Amy J. Glass, Department of Economics, Texas A&M University
	Prof. Keith E. Maskus, Department of Economics, University of Colorado Boulder
	Prof. Xuan-Thao Nguyen, Robert H. McKinney School of Law, Indiana University
10:45	Coffee Break
11:15	The Changing International Intellectual Property Landscape
Moderator:	Prof. Peter K. Yu, Texas A&M University School of Law
Presenters:	Prof. Olufunmilayo B. Arewa, Temple University Beasley School of Law

Prof. Margo A. Bagley, Emory University School of Law

Prof. Rochelle C. Dreyfuss, New York University School of Law

Prof. Ruth L. Okediji, Harvard Law School

Prof. Jerome H. Reichman, Duke University School of Law

1:00 **Lunch** 

Speaker: Antony Taubman, Director, Intellectual Property, Government Procurement and

Competition Division, World Trade Organization (Switzerland)

2:30 TRIPS and Public Health

Moderator: Dr. Dhanay M. Cadillo Chandler, Post-Doctoral Researcher, Faculty of Law, University

of Turku (Finland)

Presenters: Prof. Shamnad Basheer, National Law School of India University, Bangalore (India);

Bok Visiting Professor, University of Pennsylvania Law School

Prof. Cynthia M. Ho, Loyola University Chicago School of Law

Prof. Patricia Judd, Washburn University School of Law

James P. Love, Director, Knowledge Ecology International

4:00 Coffee Break

4:15 Intellectual Property in the TRIPS-Plus World

Moderator: Prof. H. Brian Holland, Texas A&M University School of Law

Presenters: Prof. Anupam Chander, Georgetown University Law Center

Prof. Doris Estelle Long, John Marshall Law School, Chicago

Prof. J. Janewa Osei-Tutu, Florida International University College of Law

J. Todd Reves TWL '98, Attorney-Advisor, Office of Policy and International Affairs,

U.S. Patent and Trademark Office

Prof. Marketa Trimble, William S. Boyd School of Law, University of Nevada, Las

Vegas

6:00 Symposium Adjourns for the Day

7:00 Dinner for Symposium Participants

Waters

301 Main St., Fort Worth

#### SATURDAY, MARCH 30, 2019

9:00 Breakfast

9:30 Post-TRIPS Reforms and Institutional Developments

Moderator: Prof. Jeff W. Slattery, Texas A&M University School of Law

Presenters: Dr. Bassem Awad, International Law Research Program, Centre for International

Governance Innovation (Canada)

Prof. Jeremy De Beer, Faculty of Law, University of Ottawa (Canada)

Prof. Sarah R. Wasserman Rajec, William & Mary Law School

Prof. Peter K. Yu, Texas A&M University School of Law

11:00 Coffee Break

11:30 TRIPS and Innovation

Moderator: Prof. Stefania Fusco, Notre Dame Law School

Presenters: Prof. Aman Gebru, Benjamin N. Cardozo School of Law, Yeshiva University

Prof. Sharon K. Sandeen, Mitchell Hamline School of Law

Prof. Joshua Sarnoff, DePaul University College of Law

Prof. Saurabh Vishnubhakat, Texas A&M University School of Law

1:00 **Lunch** 

2:30 TRIPS and Fair Competition

Moderator: Prof. Doris Estelle Long, John Marshall Law School, Chicago

Presenters: Prof. Irene Calboli, Texas A&M University School of Law

Prof. Christine Haight Farley, American University Washington College of Law

Prof. Leah C. Grinvald, Suffolk University Law School

Prof. Srividhya Ragavan, Texas A&M University School of Law

4:00 Closing Remarks

Prof. Peter K. Yu, Texas A&M University School of Law

## 4:15 Symposium Adjourns for the Day

**6:00 Art Exhibition** (Optional)

Sid Richardson Museum

309 Main St., Fort Worth, TX 76102

## 7:00 Dinner for Symposium Participants

City Club of Fort Worth

301 Commerce St., Fort Worth

#### **Conference Fellows**

- Emilie Algenio, Copyright/Fair Use Librarian, Texas A&M University Libraries
- Dr. Dhanay M. Cadillo Chandler, Post-Doctoral Researcher, Faculty of Law, University of Turku (Finland)
- Prof. Stefania Fusco, Notre Dame Law School
- Prof. Toshiya Kaneko, School of Law, Meiji University (Japan)
- Maria Strong, Deputy Director of Policy and International Affairs, United States Copyright Office