

"Creativity and Innovation Is Local" Symposium

FINAL PROGRAM

FRIDAY, MARCH 31, 2023

8:30 Breakfast

9:00 Welcoming Remarks

Prof. Peter K. Yu, Director, Center for Law and Intellectual Property, Texas A&M

University School of Law

9:15 Marks

Moderator: Prof. Eric E. Johnson, University of Oklahoma College of Law

Presenters: Dr. Enrico Bonadio, Reader, City Law School, City, University of London (U.K.)

Prof. Margaret Chon, Seattle University School of Law

Prof. John T. Cross, University of Louisville School of Law

10:45 Coffee Break

11:15 Entrepreneurship

Moderator: Prof. Hannah Bloch-Wehba, Texas A&M University School of Law

Presenters: Prof. Aaron Fellmeth, Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law, Arizona State University

Prof. Xuan-Thao Nguyen, University of Washington School of Law

Prof. Sharon K. Sandeen, Mitchell Hamline School of Law

12:45 Lunch

2:00 Glocalization

Moderator: Prof. H. Brian Holland, Texas A&M University School of Law

Presenters: Prof. Frederick M. Abbott, Florida State University College of Law

Prof. Sapna Kumar, University of Houston Law Center

Prof. Ana Santos Rutschman, Charles Widger School of Law, Villanova University

Prof. Peter K. Yu, Texas A&M University School of Law

3:45 Coffee Break

4:15 Innovation

Moderator: Prof. Saurabh Vishnubhakat, Benjamin N. Cardozo School of Law, Yeshiva University

Presenters: Prof. Peter Lee, UC Davis School of Law

Prof. Srividhya Ragavan, Texas A&M University School of Law

Prof. Jacob S. Sherkow, College of Law and Carle Illinois College of Medicine,

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Prof. Sarah R. Wasserman Rajec, William & Mary Law School

6:00 Symposium Adjourns for the Day

7:00 Dinner for Symposium Participants

Waters

301 Main St., Fort Worth

SATURDAY, APRIL 1, 2023

8:30 Breakfast

9:00 Welcoming Remarks

Dean Robert B. Ahdieh, Anthony G. Buzbee Endowed Dean's Chair, Texas A&M University School of Law and Vice President for Professional Schools and Programs,

Texas A&M University

9:15 Designs

Moderator: Prof. Stefania Fusco, Notre Dame Law School

Presenters: Prof. Christine Haight Farley, American University Washington College of Law

Prof. Joshua Sarnoff, DePaul University College of Law

Prof. Saurabh Vishnubhakat, Benjamin N. Cardozo School of Law, Yeshiva University

10:45 Coffee Break

11:15 Technologies

Moderator: Niky R. Bagley '03, Managing Counsel, Toyota Motor North America, Inc.; Adjunct

Professor, Texas A&M University School of Law

Presenters: Prof. Tabrez Ebrahim, Lewis & Clark Law School

Prof. Timothy T. Hsieh, Oklahoma City University School of Law

Prof. Sun Haochen, Faculty of Law, University of Hong Kong

12:45 Lunch

1:45 Creations

Moderator: Prof. Jeff W. Slattery, Texas A&M University School of Law

Presenters: Prof. Olufunmilayo B. Arewa, Temple University Beasley School of Law

Prof. Aman K. Gebru, University of Houston Law Center

Prof. Doris Estelle Long, University of Illinois Chicago School of Law

Prof. Glynn S. Lunney, Jr., Texas A&M University School of Law

Prof. J. Janewa OseiTutu, Florida International University College of Law

3:45 Closing Remarks

Prof. Peter K. Yu, Texas A&M University School of Law

4:00 Symposium Adjourns for the Day

6:30 Dinner for Symposium Participants

Del Frisco's Grille 154 E. 3rd St., Fort Worth

Conference Fellows

- Niky R. Bagley '03, Managing Counsel, Toyota Motor North America, Inc.; Adjunct Professor, Texas A&M University School of Law
- Prof. Stefania Fusco, Notre Dame Law School
- Prof. Eric E. Johnson, University of Oklahoma College of Law
- Bok-Hyun Lee, Deputy Director, Convergence Technology Examination Bureau, Korean Intellectual Property Office; Visiting Scholar, Texas A&M University School of Law